How to Watch the Marvel Cinematic Universe

How to Watch the Marvel Cinematic Universe

We’re all getting ready for the much anticipated release of Marvel’s newest additions into the Marvel Cinematic Universe. I, for one, am preparing and have been preparing since about this time last year with a mega MCU watching adventure. By this, I mean watching every MCU show and movie in chronological order. I have enjoyed watching every show and movie in order. I feel like I have learned so much from this world that Stan Lee created. It’s amazing to see how elaborate the world is and how incredible it is the see the sets and stories come to life.

The MCU is divided into distinct sections, with the interconnected stories of its individual heroes building towards a convulsive finale every few years in the form of the Avengers team-up movies. We are now heading into Phase Four with the releases of Avengers: Endgame and Spiderman: Far From Home.

Marvel Cinematic Universe – Phase One

The First set of movies introduces the main universe in which the films are set, as well as the core characters. These characters include Iron Man, Thor, Captain America, Hulk, Black Widow, Hawkeye and Nick Fury. The organizations include S.H.I.E.L.D. and HYDRA. Many of the films in Phase One focus on the Tesseract. The Tesseract is an alien artifact that is later confirmed to contain one of the six Infinity Stones. The final film in Phase One, The Avengers, involves the villians Loki and Thanos allying to steal the Tesseract and conquer Earth, leading to the formation of the Avengers.

Order to Watch Phase One

Captain America: The First Avenger (1943 – 1945)

Agent Carter (seasons one and two)

Agent Carter (one-shot — Iron Man 3 DVD)

Captain Marvel (yes, this movie comes to theaters in Phase Three, but it is set in 1995 and therefore belongs with Phase One)

Iron Man (2010)

Iron Man 2 (2011)

The Incredible Hulk (2011)

The Consultant (one-shot — Thor DVD)

A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Thor’s Hammer (one-shot — Captain America: First Avengers DVD)

Thor (2011)

Avengers (2012)

Item 47 (one-shot — Avengers DVD)

Marvel Cinematic Universe – Phase Two

The second phase focuses on the post-Battle of New York exploits of the Avengers and S.H.I.E.L.D. Phase Two also introduces more heroes, including Falcon, Quicksilver, Scarlet Witch, Vision, Ant-Man, and the Guardians of the Galaxy (Star-Lord, Gamora, Drax the Destroyer, Rocket Raccoon and Groot) and further explains the origin of the Infinity Stones. We are also introduced to the start of TV shows. These include Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., Daredevil and Jessica Jones. Although the Netflix shows (Daredevil and Jessica Jones) are not directly related to the Avengers series, they do touch on some of the subjects, such as, the Battle of New York. It is important to note that if you do watch Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., you should definitely watch along with the movies as their cinematic counterparts have major effects on the show’s story.

Order to Watch Phase Two

Iron Man 3 (2012)

All Hail the King (one-shot — Thor: The Dark World)

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (season one: episodes 1-7)

Thor:The Dark World (2013)

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (season one: episodes 8-16)

Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (season one: episodes 17-22)

Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2014)

Daredevil (season one)

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (season two: episodes 1-19)

Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (season two: episodes 20-22)

Ant-Man (2015)

Jessica Jones (season one)

Daredevil (season two)

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (season three: episodes 1-19)

Marvel Cinematic Universe – Phase Three

Phase Three is set during a time of discord generated from the aftermath of Ultron’s attack against the Earth. With public opinion of superheroes becoming increasingly divided, the Avengers become fragmented. In the midst of the Avengers’ turmoils, a number of new heroes are introduced. These include, Doctor Strange, Black Panther, Mantis, Spider-man, Valkyrie, and Captain Marvel. Thanos’ plot to collect all of the Infinity Stones, which began late in Phase One, is drawn to a close in this Phase. We continue with Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. and get a lot more new TV shows such as, Luke Cage, Iron Fist, The Defenders, The Punisher, Runaways, Cloak and Dagger, and Inhumans. As well as continuing Jessica Jones and Daredevil. Like before, only Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. is directly connected to the Avengers, but even that show is slowly distancing itself away from that story line.

Order to Watch Phase Three

Captain America: Civil War (2016)

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (season three: episodes 20-22)

Luke Cage (season one)

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (season four episodes: 1-8)

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Slingshot (web series)

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (season four: episodes 9-22)

Iron Fist (season one)

The Defenders (season one)

Spider-man: Homecoming (2016)

Doctor Strange (2016-2017)

The Punisher (season one)

Runaways (season one)

Black Panther (2017)

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (season five: episodes 1-19)

Cloak and Dagger (season one)

Jessica Jones (season two)

Inhumans (season one)

Luke Cage (season two)

Iron Fist (season two)

Daredevil (season three)

Runaways (season two)

The Punisher (season two)

Thor: Ragnarok (2017)

Ant-Man and The Wasp (2017)

Avengers Infinity War (2017)

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (season five: episodes 20-22)

Avengers: Endgame (2019)

Marvel Cinematic Universe – Phase Four

Little is known about what is to come in Phase Four but it is set to kick off after whatever happens in Avengers: Endgame. We do know that Spider-Man: Far From Home will kick off the fourth phase.

A lot of these shows and movies can be found on Netflix, Hulu, or Amazon. If you’re tired of binge watching the same show over and over, going on this adventure will certainly not disappoint. Especially when you have nine days worth of content to watch!!

If you have any questions or just want to talk about the MCU, shoot me a comment below or message me on any of my social media platforms.

Sign up for a free trial of Amazon Prime to get started in watching the Amazon exclusives like Agent Carter and Inhumans

4 thoughts on “How to Watch the Marvel Cinematic Universe

Leave a Reply

Back to top